Assington Hall

Destroyed by fire in 1957, elements of sixteenth century Assingham Hall stands beside the parish church within the remains of an eighteenth century landscape park that once included an avenue of trees with entrance lodges, dammed stream and moated island that may date to the Tudor period. The estate was sold and broken up in 1938. In separate ownership, the northern half of the park is arable, where there is a mature avenue of lime trees and newly-created pond. The southern part has survived much as it was in the mid-nineteenth century, including many mature specimen trees. The moated island has gone, although the nineteenth century pleasure garden layout survives. The stables and coach house have been converted to a residential property, now in separate ownership, with remains of the kitchen garden walls around its garden. A new house has been built within the orchard. To the south of the park a mid-nineteenth century model farm has been converted for residential use.
Not open to the general public. Run as a Christian Centre only for bookings and events

Assington Hall Read More »

Assington Parish