Westwood Hall

Once the site of a large house built in the mid-seventeenth century, all that remains of the original Westwood Hall are a cross-passage, service cell and carved oak pediment over the present house with an inscription to its builder Barnaby Gibson (1625–1706). On the site are the remains of two early-eighteenth century parallel garden canals associated with the house and built by either Barnaby’s son or grandson, both named Barnaby. The Barnabys had family ties to the Sheppard family of Campsey Ashe and Edward Mann of Boundary Farm in Framsden, where similar canals exist. Today, a house in separate ownership exists to the south of the site that has taken the name Westwood Hall and the remains of the original Hall have been enlarged and described in Historic England’s listing as a farmhouse.
Not open to the public

Westwood Hall Read More »

Stonham Parva Parish