Plumpton Hall

Formerly the site of a dairy and orchard owned by the Abbey of Bury St Edmunds, after the Dissolution it eventually came into the hands of the Drury family who built a timber-framed house on the site in 1537, forming the core of Plumpton Hall. In an isolated position, it became a farmhouse and was bought by Sir Francis Thomas Hammond who had the house redesigned to look like a French chateau c. 1800. The River Lark flows close to the house and had been widened to form a canal-like feature in the gardens. A small park was developed around the house that incorporated ancient woodlands with tracks radiating out from the house. It began to be known as Plumpton House during the nineteenth century and was extended in the early-twentieth century. Also on the site are surviving stables and walled garden, with one late-nineteenth century entrance lodge and another dating to c. 1911. The estate was broken up in the second half of the twentieth century, much of it turned over to arable. Some of the park was retained and the house was divided into three separate properties, each allocated a portion of the pleasure gardens. The largest central property includes the early core of the house and is named Plumpton House today. The stables and farm buildings have been converted into separately owned residential properties with some new buildings added.
Not open to the public

Plumpton Hall Read More »

Whepstead Parish