Search Inventory

The Grove

The Grove was home to clergymen during the nineteenth century, although they were not always rector of the parish. The Revd James Carlos was responsible for major alterations and additions to the house in the early-nineteenth century and is believed to have developed the small parkland area, pleasure and walled garden at the same time. Paths led into a small wood to the north where there once stood a summerhouse, possibly a grotto. The east wall of the walled garden was at a lower height and topped by iron railings, thus allowing views out into the gardens and parkland beyond. There has been little change to the garden’s layout and it remains very much as it was when home to the Revd Carlos. A nineteenth century lodge is now in separate ownership.
Not open to the public

The Grove Read More »

Frostenden Parish

Ilketshall Hall

Originally part of the site of Grove Farm in the neighbouring parish of Ilketshall St Andrew, Ilketshall Hall is an Arts and Crafts house built in a mock-Tudor style c. 1903 by the Adair family of nearby Flixton Hall and believed to have been used as a hunting lodge for the Flixton Estate. Beside the remains of a square moat, Grove Farmhouse lies east of the Hall and the farm buildings were situated just over the parish boundary in Ilketshall St Lawrence. The new house was built beside these. At about the same time a square walled garden, since lost to large poultry sheds, and plantation were established to the north-west of the Hall.
Not open to the public

Ilketshall Hall Read More »

Ilketshall St Lawrence Parish

Finborough Hall

Now an independent school, late-eighteenth century Finborough Hall replaced a previous house overlooking an extensive wooded landscape park with post-medieval origins. A hospital during World War I, later the headquarters of Eastern Electricity, in the 1960s the parkland was sold for a golf course and the house and gardens become a school in the 1970s. Probably of eighteenth century date, an ornamental lake and folly mound topped by a column survive. Many original drives have become footpaths across the golf course. Three entrance lodges survive, two as private houses, with the remains of ornamental metal gates and brick piers still marking one of the old entrances. The third dates to the late-nineteenth century and is the main entrance to the school where the drive and adjacent early ha-ha curve around the pleasure gardens towards the north front of the house. Some evidence remains of features from a nineteenth century garden that included an ‘embowered walk’ leading to a shrubbery with paths and ornamental arch to an oval pond. The mid-eighteenth century coach house and stables are now residential properties. Probably of a similar date, a large irregularly-shaped walled garden now has twentieth century houses within its walls that were breached for entrances and a road, although many walls were preserved and restored to survive today.
Not open to the general public

Finborough Hall Read More »

Great Finborough Parish

Groton Place

With sixteenth or seventeenth century origins, Groton Place was created the manor house for Groton by John Winstrop before he emigrated to Massachusetts during the puritan migration in 1630. It was remodelled in the Georgian style during the eighteenth century and later became a farmhouse. The site included farm buildings, now converted to residential properties, a surviving trapezoid-shaped walled garden attached to the north wing of the house that in 1838 may have become an ornamental garden, with an attached kitchen garden and path leading to a large pond, both surviving today. An orchard and small area of parkland to the east have been lost to arable cultivation.
Not open to the public

Groton Place Read More »

Groton Parish

Wetheringsett Manor

Wetheringsett Manor was built c. 1844 as a new rectory to designs by Samual Sanders Teulon in the Gothic Revival style on agricultural land north of the parish church. It became a private residence in 1863. The house was surrounded by a small park with a large partly-walled kitchen garden and small area of pleasure gardens. During the twentieth century the extent of the parkland was reduced and it became the headquarters of a Christian missionary organisation and in the twenty-first century a school for children with special educational needs. Today a number of institutional buildings stand close to the house, twentieth century houses have been built in the original western parkland where a mature avenue of limes lines the entrance drive, although the nineteenth century pleasure gardens and kitchen garden survive.
Not open to the general public

Wetheringsett Manor Read More »

Wetheringsett cum Brockford

Wenham Place

A farmhouse since at least the nineteenth century, early-sixteenth century Welham Place is thought to be the remains of a much larger mansion that was enlarged again in the nineteenth century. It is believed to have been owned by Willy Lott, whose cottage at Flatford was made famous in the painting by John Constable, but was tenanted at the time. Attached to the rear of the house is a sixteenth century walled garden with bee boles in one wall and a nineteenth century gabled summerhouse. During the twentieth century most of the earlier farm buildings were replaced.
Not open to the public

Wenham Place Read More »

Wenham Magna

Tattingstone Place

The mid-eighteenth century Tattingstone Place once stood in an extensive landscape park created around a series of fishponds in the valley of Tattingstone Brook, which may have been part of an elaborate eighteenth century water garden. Its gardens were enclosed by a ha-ha. The house stood on rising ground with a terraced garden, possibly the work of William Nesfield in the mid-nineteenth century to accommodate the slope down to the water’s edge. In the nineteenth century a yard attached to the house became a surviving walled garden. Within the wooded parkland there was an icehouse within a clump of trees and the eighteenth-century Tattingstone Wonder folly was built just outside the park’s boundary as an eye-catcher and to extend the view from the house. During the 1970s and 80s a dam was constructed that flooded the valley of the brook to create Alton Water and a substantial part of the designed landscape associated with the house was lost.
Not open to the public

Tattingstone Place Read More »

Tattingstone Parish

North Cove Hall

South of the Waveney River, eighteenth century North Cove Hall sits on the site of an earlier house within a small early-nineteenth century park that expanded to take in ancient woodland and North Cove Green. The park expanded further when a bypass road was built in the twentieth century. Much of the park survives and mature trees are dotted throughout. Bounded by a ha-ha, surviving pleasure gardens were established with a further ha-ha to the front of the house. Within the gardens are the remains of a walled garden with oval pond straddling the south wall.
Not open to the public

North Cove Hall Read More »

North Cove Parish

Huntingfield Hall

Developed as a model farmhouse in the late-eighteenth century by Sir Joshua Vanneck, owner of nearby Heveningham Hall, Huntingfield Hall was built on the site of a manor house that was surrounded by a medieval deer park. During the sixteenth century the old Hall was a fortified complex with courtyards and gatehouse. It is alleged that Queen Elizabeth I stayed at Huntingfield to enjoy the hunting in the park and the surviving Queen’s Oak is said to have been used as a vantage point by the Queen, although it may have been Mary Tudor, sister of Henry VIII, who was married to the 1st Duke of Suffolk. Designed to look like a castle, possibly to designs by James Wyatt, the farmhouse acted as a folly that could be seen from Heveningham Hall and the park was incorporated into Heveningham parkland. The farmhouse appears not to have had any formal pleasure gardens.
Not open to the public

Huntingfield Hall Read More »

Huntingfield Parish

The Depperhaugh

Built on the site of a farmhouse, The Depperhaugh is a mid-nineteenth century country house once set within a small park created from surrounding fields with walled garden and small area of formal garden. At the beginning of the twentieth century The Depperhaugh Estate was broken-up, the house lost its southern parkland and became a school and the grounds further reduced when sold in 1969 to become a care home, as it remains today. Some mature field boundary and freestanding trees survive from the nineteenth century, as does a square walled garden and the remains of the formal gardens in the form of a raised terrace and arbour.
A nursing home only open to the public on specific days

The Depperhaugh Read More »

Hoxne Parish